AMU - Arab Maghreb Union

Arab Maghreb Union

In June 1988, the Algerian, Libyan, Mauritanian, Moroccan and Tunisian Heads of States met in Algiers to deliberate the creation of the Arab Maghreb Union. The Arab Maghreb Union (AMU) was founded in February 1989 in Marrakech with the approval of the Treaty Instituting the Arab Maghreb Union. At the Treaty approval, the member States agreed to coordinate, harmonize and rationalize their policies and strategies to achieve sustainable development in all sectors of human activities. In addition to the Treaty, the Marrakesh Summit adopted the Solemn Declaration on the establishment of AMU and its work program. The Arab Maghreb Union objectives are to:

  • Strengthen the ties of brotherhood which link the member States and their peoples to one another;
  • Achieving progress and prosperity of their societies and defending their rights;
  • Contributing to the preservation of peace based on justice and equity;
  • Pursuing a common policy in different domains; and
  • Working gradually towards achieving free movement of persons and transfer of services, goods and capital among them.

The principal structures and institutions of AMU are:

  • The Presidency Council,
  • The Consultative Council,
  • The Secretariat,
  • The Monitoring Committee,
  • The Meeting of the Prime Ministers,
  • The Council of Foreign Ministers,
  • The Ministerial specialized Commissions,
  • The Judicial Organ,
  • The University of Maghreb, and
  • The Maghreb Bank for Investment and Foreign Trade


The Current member States of AMU are Algeria, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, and Tunisia.


Selected regional indicators for AMU


US$425.7  billion

GDP per capita


Area (sq. km)

5.8 million sq. km

Total population

94.2 million

Total imports

US$150.9 billion

Total exports

US$126.8 billion

Source: United Nations Conference on Trade and Development statistical database (2016) [1]


The headquarters of AMU
Rue Tensift Agdal, 73

Rabat, Morocco

Tel:  +212 537 6813 71/72/73/74
Fax: +212 537 681 377



[1] See Accessed on 1 July 2016.