About the office

The Subregional Office for Eastern Africa (SRO-EA) is located in Kigali (Rwanda). The office covers the following countries: Burundi, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Kenya, Madagascar, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda.

SRO-EA is headed by a Director who reports to the Executive Secretary. Its core objective is to contribute to achieving structural transformation for inclusive and sustainable development in the subregion, with a focus on deepening regional integration.

The office also serves two Regional Economic Communities (RECs): East African Community (EAC) and Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD);and three intergovernmental Organisations (IGOs): Indian Ocean Commission (IOC); the Economic Community of the Great Lakes Countries (CEPGL); and the International Conference on the Great Lakes Region (ICGLR).  

The core functions are as follows:
(a) Assisting member States through initiatives, advisory services and tailored capacity-building interventions in the context of the implementation of the African Continental Free Trade Area, including through technical studies and country profiles addressing structural transformation;
(b) Contributing to strengthening the capacity of member States in the Eastern Africa subregion, the regional economic communities and intergovernmental bodies to develop and implement development frameworks, including on the blue economy.