African Union





Third session

African Union

E/ECA/CM/50/INF/1 AU/STC/FMEPI/MIN/WP(III)

Distr.: General 17 March 2017 Original: English

Economic Commission for Africa Conference of African Ministers of Finance, Planning and Economic Development Fiftieth session

Tenth Joint Annual Meetings of the African Union Specialized Technical Committee on Finance, Monetary Affairs, Economic Planning and Integration and the Economic Commission for Africa Conference of African Ministers of Finance, Planning and Economic Development

Dakar, 27 and 28 March 2017

African Union Specialized Technical Committee on Finance, Monetary Affairs, Economic Planning and Integration

Provisional programme of work

Monday, 27 March

9-11 a.m. **Opening of the session** (agenda item 1)

Moderator: Ms. Zeinab Badawi, Chair of the Royal

African Society

Venue: Plenary Hall (Salle Ovale), CICAD

Chair: Chair of the outgoing Bureau

Opening statements:

• Mr. Abdalla Hamdok, Acting Executive Secretary, Economic Commission for Africa

• H.E. Mr. Moussa Faki Mahamat, Chairperson of the African Union Commission

Statements by special guests:

• Ms. Amina Mohammed, Deputy Secretary-General, United Nations

• H.E. Mr. Peter Thomson, President of the United Nations General Assembly

Official opening address: H.E. Mr. Mahammed Boun Abdallah Dionne, Prime Minister of Senegal

11-11.15 a.m.

Coffee break

11.15-11.30 a.m.

Election of the Bureau and adoption of the agenda and programme of work (agenda item 2)

11.30 a.m.-1.30p.m.

High-level ministerial policy dialogue on the theme of the tenth Joint Annual Meetings: "Growth, inequality and unemployment" (agenda item 3)

Venue: Plenary Hall (Salle Ovale), CICAD

Chair: H.E. Mr. Amadou Ba, Minister of Economy, Finance, and Planning, Senegal

Panellists:

- H.E. Mr. Mahamudu Bawumia, Vice-President of Ghana
- H.E.Ms. Ingrid Olga Ghislaine Ebouka Babackas, Minister of Planning and Integration, Congo
- Ms. Amina Mohammed, Deputy Secretary-General, United Nations
- H.E. Mr. Moussa Faki Mahamat, Chairperson of the African Union Commission
- Mr. Abdalla Hamdok, Acting Executive Secretary, Economic Commission for Africa

1.30-2.30 p.m.

Lunch break

2.30-6.45 p.m.

High-level round-table discussions (agenda item 4)

2.30-3.30 p.m.

Round table 1: Strategies for sustainable and inclusive growth

Venue: Plenary Hall (Salle Ovale), CICAD

Chair: H.E Hon. Matia Kasaija, Minister of Finance, Planning and Economic Development, Uganda

Lead discussant: Mr. Ibrahim Ahmed Elbadawi, Managing Director, Economic Research Forum

Panellists:

- Prof. Lemma Senbet, Executive Director, African Economic Research Consortium
- Ms. Fatima Haram Acyl, Former Commissioner for Trade and Industry, African Union Commission
- H.E. Mr. Anthony Mothae Maruping, Commissioner for Economic Affairs, African Union Commission
- Mr. Logan Wort, Executive Secretary, African Tax Administration Forum

3.30-4.30 p.m.

Round table 2: Priorities for addressing inequalities at the national and regional levels

Venue: Plenary Hall (Salle Ovale), CICAD

Chair: H.E. Hon. Lucky Mulusa, M.P., Minister of National Development Planning, Zambia

Lead discussant: Prof. Avom Désiré, Professor of Economics, Dschang University, Cameroon

Panellists:

- H.E.Ms. Aissatou Boulama Kané, Minister of Planning, Niger
- Hon. Tom Alweendo, Minister in the Presidency, National Planning Commission, Namibia
- Mr. Aeneas Chuma, Assistant Director-General and Regional Director for ILO Africa
- Mr. Alberic Kacou, Vice-President, African Development Bank

4.30-4.45 p.m.

Coffee break

4.45-5.45 p.m.

Round table 3: Policy approaches for promoting sustainable and inclusive employment

Venue: Plenary Hall (Salle Ovale), CICAD

Chair: H.E Mr. Miguel Engonga Obiang Eyang, Minister of Finance and Budget, Equatorial Guinea

Lead discussant: Prof. Frank Lisk, Centre for the Study of Globalization and Regionalization

Panellists:

- H.E. Hon. Obert Mpofu, M.P., Minister of Macroeconomic Planning and Investment Promotion, Zimbabwe
- Mr. Ousmane Kane, former Minister and former Governor of the Central Bank of Mauritania
- Prof. John Lungu, Copperbelt University, Zambia
- Mr. Marcel Alain de Souza, President, ECOWAS Commission

5.45-6.45 p.m.

2017 Adebayo Adedeji lecture, delivered by H.E. Mr. Oluyemi Osinbajo, Vice-President of Nigeria

6.45 p.m. Reception

Venue: TBD

Tuesday, 28 March

9.30-9.40 a.m. Presentation on the African Union theme of the year: "Harnessing the demographic dividend

through investments in youth"

9.40-9.50 a.m. Presentation of the outcome of the eighteenth

session of the Regional Coordination Mechanism

for Africa

9.50-10.15 a.m. Statement by H.E. Frederick Musiiwa Makamure

Shava, President of the Economic and Social

Council

10.15-11.45 a.m. Economic Commission for Africa statutory

segment: consideration of recommendations and adoption of draft resolutions (agenda item 5)

Venue: Plenary Hall (Salle Ovale), CICAD

Chair: Chair of the Bureau

11.45-noon Coffee break

Noon -1.30 p.m. **African Union Commission statutory segment:**

consideration of recommendations and adoption

of draft resolutions (agenda item 6)

Venue: Plenary Hall (Salle Ovale), CICAD

Chair: Chair of the Bureau

1.30-2.30 p.m. Lunch break

2.30-3.30 p.m. Consideration and adoption of the draft

ministerial statement (agenda item 7)

Venue: Plenary Hall (Salle Ovale), CICAD

Chair: Chair of the Bureau

3.30-4 p.m. Other matters (agenda item 8)

4-4.30 p.m. Closing of the session (agenda item 9)

Venue: Plenary Hall (Salle Ovale), CICAD

Statements:

• Mr. Abdalla Hamdok, Acting Executive Secretary, Economic Commission for Africa

• H.E. Mr. Moussa Faki Mahamat, Chairperson,

African Union Commission

• Chair of the Bureau

4.30-5 p.m. **Press conference**