



Media advisory

East African countries to discuss AfCFTA implementation this week in Kigali.

Kigali, Rwanda, 16 November -

More than 250 decision makers and economic stakeholders will gather in Kigali next week to reach a common understanding on the implementation of the African Continental Free Trade Area, the AFCFTA, which was signed in Rwanda earlier this year.

The AfCFTA, now signed by 49 countries out of 55 on the continent, requires 22 countries to ratify it before it can come into force. More efforts are needed to make the AfCFTA a reality and enable the economic transformation it is aiming at.

The 22nd meeting of the Intergovernmental Committee of Experts, the annual meeting of the office for East Africa of the UN Economic Commission in Africa, will focus this year on the implementation of the AfCFTA. The meeting is organized with the Ministry of Finance of Economic Planning of Rwanda and will take place in Kigali from 20 to 22 November. It will gather representatives from the 14 countries served by the subregional office.

"At the ECA, we have always been very supportive of pan-African integration, greater trade and investment between Member States, says Andrew Mold, the Acting Director of ECA in East Africa. The AfCFTA will help African countries to recapture domestic and regional markets and enable Africa to compete better on the global market".

The participants will work on thematic issues pertaining to the AfCFTA: intra-African export opportunities, the free movement of people, trade in services, role of the regional economic communities, energy infrastructures, etc. A round-table dinner will focus on the gender perspective, in partnership with the organization TradeMark East Africa.

* the subregional office for East Africa serves 14 countries: Burundi, Comores, RD Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda.