

Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 24 March 2019 Original: English

Economic Commission for Africa
Conference of African Ministers of Finance,
Planning and Economic Development
Fifty-second session
Marrakech, Morocco, 25 and 26 March 2019
Item 2 of the provisional agenda*
Election of the Bureau and adoption of the agenda and programme of work

Annotated provisional agenda

1. Opening of the session

The Conference will start at 8 a.m. on Monday, 25 March 2019, with a group photograph session. This will be followed by the opening ceremony where the Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) and the Chair of the outgoing Bureau of the Conference of African Ministers of Finance, Planning and Economic Development will make welcoming statements. In addition, statements will be given by special guests. The host country will deliver the official opening address.

2. Election of the Bureau and adoption of the agenda and programme of work

Documentation

Provisional agenda: (E/ECA/CM/52/1/Rev.1)

Draft programme of work: (E/ECA/CM/52/INF/1/Rev.7)

The composition of the new Bureau of the Conference of Ministers will be announced following consultations. The Bureau will comprise five members: one Chair, three Vice-Chairs and one rapporteur, elected on the basis of equitable geographical representation. The composition of the Bureau of the previous sessions is set out in the annex to the present document. Following brief remarks, the incoming Chair will preside over the rest of the proceedings. The Conference of Ministers will be invited to consider and adopt the agenda and programme of work, subject to such amendments as are deemed necessary.

3. High-level ministerial policy dialogue on the theme of the fifty-second session of the Commission: "Fiscal policy, trade and the private sector in the digital era: a strategy for Africa"

Documentation

(E/ECA/COE/38/13)

The high-level ministerial policy dialogue will explore issues around the theme of the Conference. Ministers and leading experts from international organizations, civil society and the private sector will share their views thereon.

4. High-level round-table discussions

Documentation

(E/ECA/COE/38/13)

Two high-level round tables will be held to explore the theme of the session. In these round tables, ministers and leading experts from international organizations, civil society and the private sector will share their views on the following topical issues relating to the theme:

- (a) Round table 1: Enhancing fiscal policy through digitization;
- (b) Round table 2: Trade and private sector development in the digital era.

5. Consideration of recommendations and adoption of resolutions

Documentation

(E/ECA/CM/52/2)

Under this agenda item, the Chair of the Committee of Experts will present the major conclusions, recommendations and draft resolutions from the meeting of the Committee to the Conference of Ministers for its consideration and adoption.

6. Consideration and adoption of the ministerial statement

Under this agenda item, the Conference of Ministers may wish to consider and adopt the ministerial policy statement, which articulates the views of the ministers on the theme of the session and other policy and operational issues.

7. Other matters

The Conference of Ministers may wish to consider any other matter that may be brought to its attention.

8. Closing of the session

The Executive Secretary of ECA will make brief closing remarks. The Chair of the Conference of Ministers will highlight the main outcomes of the Conference and close the meeting.

2/4

Annex

Members of the Bureau of the Commission

Year (Venue)	Chair	First Vice-Chair	Second Vice- Chair	Third Vice- Chair	Rapporteur
2001 (Algiers)	Algeria (NA)	Tanzania (EA)	Gabon (CA)	Mali (WA)	South Africa (SA)
2002 (Johannesburg)	South Africa (SA)	Cameroon (CA)	Ghana (WA)	Kenya (EA)	Sudan (NA)
2003 (Addis Ababa)	South Africa (SA)	Cameron (CA)	Ghana (WA)	Kenya (EA)	Sudan (NA)
2004 (Kampala)	Uganda (EA)	Niger (WA)	Mauritania (NA)	Equatorial Guinea (CA)	Zambia (SA)
2005 (Abuja)	Nigeria (WA)	Egypt (NA)	Congo (CA)	Lesotho (SA)	Ethiopia (EA)
2006 (Ouagadougou)	Burkina Faso (WA)	Congo (CA)	Libya (NA)	Burundi (EA)	Swaziland (SA)
2007 (Addis Ababa)	Ethiopia (EA)	Swaziland (SA)	Cameroon (CA)	Tunisia (NA)	Liberia (WA)
2008 (Addis Ababa)	Ethiopia (EA)	Chad (CA)	Algeria (NA)	Côte d'Ivoire (WA)	Swaziland (SA)
2009 (Cairo)	Egypt (NA)	Chad (CA)	Zimbabwe (SA)	Benin (WA)	Kenya (EA)
2010 (Lilongwe)	Malawi (SA)	Sierra Leone (WA)	Rwanda (EA)	Cameroon (CA)	Morocco (NA)
2011 (Addis Ababa)	Guinea (WA)	Rwanda (EA)	Central African Republic (CA)	Mauritania (NA)	Malawi (SA)
2012 (Addis Ababa)	Gabon (CA)	Libya (NA)	Swaziland (SA)	Eritrea (EA)	Côte d'Ivoire (WA)
2013 (Abidjan)	Côte d'Ivoire (WA)	Kenya (EA)	Algeria (NA)	Lesotho (SA)	Cameroon (CA)
2014 (Abuja)	Nigeria (WA)	Mauritania (NA)	Malawi (SA)	Equatorial Guinea (CA)	United Republic of Tanzania (EA)
2015 (Addis Ababa)	United Republic of Tanzania (EA)	Egypt (NA)	Gabon (CA)	South Africa (SA)	Guinea (WA)
2016 (Addis Ababa)	South Africa (SA)	Democratic Republic of the Congo (CA)	Algeria (NA)	Côte d'Ivoire (WA)	Uganda (EA)

19-00035

2017 (Dakar)	Senegal (WA)		Chad (CA)	Kenya (EA)	South Africa (SA)
2018 (Addis Ababa)	Sudan (NA)	Equatorial Guinea (CA)	Ethiopia (EA)	Lesotho (SA)	Senegal (WA)

4/4