

Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 2 May 2018 Original: English

Economic Commission for Africa
Africa Regional Forum on Sustainable Development
Fourth session
Dakar, 2–4 May 2018
Item 3 of the provisional agenda*
Organizational matters:
(b) Adoption of the agenda and programme of work

Provisional programme of work

Wednesday, 2 May 2018

8.30 a.m.-17.30 p.m. Registration

Pre-events

- Capacity-building and preparatory meeting for major groups and other stakeholders for the fourth session of the Africa Regional Forum on Sustainable Development
- Pre-event on Strengthening Integrated and Voluntary National Review and Reporting of the 2030 Agenda and Agenda 2063
- Other pre-events (see www.uneca.org/arfsd2018)

Thursday, 3 May 2018

8.30–9 a.m. Registration

9–10.00 a.m. **Opening of the session** (agenda item 1)

Venue: Salle Flamboyant

Chair: Chair of the outgoing Bureau of the third

session of the Regional Forum and Director of Policy Development Planning, Ministry of

Planning, Togo, Mr. Gervais Meatchi

Moderator: Director, Special Initiatives Division,

Economic Commission for Africa (ECA),

Fatima Denton

Statements:

- Chair of the outgoing Bureau of the third session of the Regional Forum, Togo, Mr. Gervais Meatchi
- United Nations resident coordinator in Senegal, Ms. Priya Gajraj

^{*} ECA/RFSD/2018/1

- Director for Economic Affairs, of the African Union Commission, Dr. Rene Kouassi
- Ministre de l'Environnement et du Développement Durable du Sénégal, Mr. Mame Thierno Dieng
- United Nations Special Representative of the Secretary-General for West Africa and the Sahel, and head of UNOWAS, Mr. Mohamed Ibn Chambas

Opening and keynote address by **H.E. Mohammed Boun Abdallah Dionne**, Prime Minister of Republic of Senegal

10.00-10.15 a.m.

Coffee break

10.15-11.45 a.m.

High-level panel on transformation towards sustainable and resilient societies: action, solutions and the role of technology (agenda item 2)

Chair: Mr. Mame Thierno Dieng, Ministre de l'Environnement et du Développement Durable du Sénégal

Moderator: Mr. Adam Abdelmoula, Director of the Human Rights Council and Treaty Mechanisms Division, OHCHR Commissioner for Human Rights

Panellists:

- H.E. Honorable Habofanoe Sixtus Lehana, Minister for Local Government and Chieftainship of the Kingdom of Lesotho and Chairperson of Sub-Committee on Human Settlement and Urban Development (HUD) of the African Union Specialized Technical Committee on Public Service, Local Government, Urban Development and Decentralization, Lesotho
- Hon. Dr. Baryomunsi Chris, Minister of State for Lands, Housing and Urban Development (Housing)
- United Nations resident coordinator in Senegal, Ms. Priva Gajraj
- Mr. Said Kambi, Chief Executive Officer, Africa Corporate Governance Network, United Republic of Tanzania

General discussion

11.45 a.m.-12.15 p.m. **Organizational matters** (agenda item 3)

(a) Overview and election of the Bureau

Chair: Mr. Gervais Meatchi, Chair of the outgoing Bureau of the third session of the Regional Forum, Togo

(b) Adoption of the agenda and programme of work

Chair: Chair of the Bureau of the fourth session of the Regional Forum

12.15-1 p.m.

Implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and Agenda 2063: support and progress made at regional and subregional levels (agenda item 4)

2/4 18-00463

Chair: Chair of the Bureau of the fourth session of the Regional Forum

Presentations:

- Africa regional report on the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals and the goals contained in Agenda 2063, by Mr. Bartholomew Armah, ECA
- Overview of the support for the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and Agenda 2063, by ECA/African Union Commission

General discussion

1-2 p.m.

Lunch break / Side-events

(https://www.uneca.org/arfsd2018)

2:30-4.00 p.m.

Round table on peer learning, focusing on solutions, good practices and lessons learned in the implementation of the 2030 Agenda and Agenda 2063 (agenda item 5)

Chair: Chair of the Bureau of the fourth session

Moderator: Mr. Mansour Ndiaye, UNDP

Panellists:

- Representative of the Government of Togo (2017 voluntary national review)
- Representative of the Government of Cabo Verde (Small island developing States/2018 voluntary national review)
- Representative of the Government of Egypt (Agenda 2063)
- Representative of major groups and other stakeholders
- Representative of development partners

4.00-4.15 p.m.

Coffee break

4.15-6 p.m.

Parallel panel meetings on the subthemes of the session (agenda item 6)

- (a) Clean water and sanitation;
- (b) Affordable and clean energy;
- (c) Sustainable cities and communities;
- (d) Responsible consumption and production;
- (e) Life on land:
- (f) Strengthening the means of implementation and the partnership for sustainable development

6.45-8.30 p.m. Reception

18-00463

Friday, 4 May 2018

9-11 a.m. Presentations and discussions of outcomes and proposed key messages, including policy recommendations emanating from the parallel panel meetings (agenda item 7)

Chair: Chair of the Bureau of the fourth session

- (a) Clean water and sanitation;
- (b) Affordable and clean energy;
- (c) Sustainable cities and communities

11–11.15 a.m. Coffee break

11.20 a.m.-1 p.m. Presentations and discussions of outcomes and proposed key messages, including policy recommendations emanating from the parallel panel meetings (continued)

Chair: Chair of the Bureau of the fourth session

- (d) Responsible consumption and production;
- (e) Life on land;
- (f) Strengthen the means of implementation and the partnership for sustainable development

1–2 p.m. Lunch break

2–4 p.m. Refining the key messages by the secretariat under the guidance of the chairs of the parallel panel meetings

2–3.45 p.m. Side events (TBD)

4-5 p.m. Consideration and adoption of key messages (agenda item

Chair: Chair of the Bureau of the fourth session

4.30–4.45 p.m. Theme, dates and venue of the fifth session of the Africa Regional Forum on Sustainable Development, in 2019

(agenda item 9)

Chair: Chair of the Bureau of the fourth session

4.45–5 p.m. Coffee break

5–5.15 p.m. Other matters (agenda item 10)

Chair: Chair of the Bureau of the fourth session

5.15–5.45 p.m. Closing of the session (agenda item 11)

Statements:

- Deputy Executive Secretary, ECA, Ms. Giovanie Biha
- Chair of the Bureau of the fourth session

4/4 18-00463

Statements